Learning Programs

training_class_small

The University offers all staff and faculty a full schedule of professional development workshops every semester. Topics include Professional Skills, Communications, Teamwork, Leadership, and more.

Enrollment: To register for Learning Programs, log into eNDeavor.

Cancellation Policy: Cancellations must be made through endeavor.nd.edu at least three business days in advance. An enrollee who does not attend a scheduled program or who cancels fewer than three business days prior to the start date will incur a $100.00 charge to their department FOAPAL.

See full program calendar


Career Services

Course descriptions | Register in eNDeavor

Title Date Time
Resumes & Cover Letters 101 Tues., Oct. 1 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Interviewing 101 Tues., Oct. 8 1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Finding Your Purpose Wed., Oct. 9 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Survival of the Kindest Tue., Oct. 15 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Using MBTI Type in Your Career Development Strategy Tues., Oct. 29 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Managing My Career Wed., Nov. 6 1:00 – 4:00 p.m.
NEW! Food for Thought…Literally Mon., Nov. 11 9:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. OR 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
Setting Your Compass Tues., Nov. 12 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
NEW! Career Coaching Strategies for Managers & Supervisors Tues., Nov. 12 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
NEW! The Future of Work Wed., Nov. 13 1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
StrengthsFinder: Identifying & Capitalizing on Your Talents Tues., Nov. 19 1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Communication and Interpersonal Skills

Course descriptions | Register in eNDeavor

Title Date Time
NEW! Authentic Public Speaking: Getting Your Voice into the World Thur., Oct 24 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
The Art of Risk-Taking Thurs., Oct 24 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Positive Conflict Resolution Mon., Oct. 28 8:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Communicating Effectively Mon., Oct. 28 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
NEW! Generations Matter Thurs., Oct. 31 8:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Managing Up: How to Succeed with Any Type of Boss Thurs., Oct. 31 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Communicating More Effectively Using Your MBTI Type Thurs., Oct. 10 8:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
When You’re “In the Grip”: MBTI and Stress Management Wed., Nov. 6 8:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Know Thyself: An Introduction to the Myers-Briggs® Type Indicator (MBTI) Tue., Dec 10 8:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

*For more information on how to join Notre Dame Toastmasters club, please click here.

Diversity and Inclusion

Course descriptions | Register in eNDeavor

Note: We Are All ND is required for all non-supervisory staff

Title Date Time
We Are All ND Wed., Sep. 11 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
We Are All ND Sep. 30 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
We Are All ND Fri., Oct. 11 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
We Are All ND Wed., Oct. 23 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
We Are All ND Tues., Nov. 5 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
We Are All ND Tues., Nov. 19 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
We Are All ND Wed., Dec. 4 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
We Are All ND Wed., Dec. 18 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Note: Multicultural Competencies and Hiring Game Changers is required for all managers and supervisors of staff

Title Date and Time
Multicultural Competencies and Hiring Game Changers Mon., Sep. 16, 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Multicultural Competencies and Hiring Game Changers Mon., Sep. 23, 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Multicultural Competencies and Hiring Game Changers Mon., Oct. 28, 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Multicultural Competencies and Hiring Game Changers Tues., Oct. 29, 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Multicultural Competencies and Hiring Game Changers Tues., Nov. 12, 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Multicultural Competencies and Hiring Game Changers Mon., Dec. 9, 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Professional Skills & Tools

Course descriptions | Register in eNDeavor

Title Date Time
NEW! Speed of Trust: Foundations Wed., Dec. 11 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Navigating the Endeavor Tool Tues., Nov. 5 2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
NEW! Creative & Innovative Thinking – The Next New Skill Mon., Oct. 14 8:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Supervision & Leadership

Course descriptions | Register in eNDeavor

Title Date Time
Leave Programs Training for Managers Tues., Sep. 10 8:30 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.
Leave Programs Training for Managers Thurs., Oct. 10 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Leave Programs Training for Managers Wed., Nov. 13 8:30 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.
Leave Programs Training for Managers Thurs., Dec. 12 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
The 7 Habits for Managers®: Managing Yourself and Leading Others Wed., Oct. 30 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
ND Essentials for Managing People Thur., Aug. 29 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 pm
ND Essentials for Managing People Tue., Sep. 24 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
ND Essentials for Managing People Wed., Oct. 23 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
NEW! Leadership for Non-supervisors Mon., Oct. 14 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Skillport.nd.edu

Can’t make it to a class? You can use Skillport, an online professional development tool provided to Notre Dame Faculty and Staff. Search courses, books and videos on skillport.nd.edu


Learning Series Programs

These multi-day programs and training workshops offer more in-depth development of interpersonal, professional, supervisory and management skills. Offerings change each semester.

Learning Series Programs


Assessments and Custom Programs

For assessments or any custom programs such as team building, strategic planning or other topics customized specifically for a department or work team, supervisors and managers should contact their HR Consultant.

Assessments

  • DiSC Styles Assessment
  • Myers-Briggs Typology Indicator (MBTI) Assessment
  • StrengthsFinder Assessment

Custom Programs

  • New Leader Assimilation
  • Teambuilding within the Team
  • Teambuilding across Shifts
  • Team Goal-Setting
  • Change Management for Teams
  • Strategic planning
  • Other topics—ask your HR Consultant!

Send us your comments and questions.