Learning Programs

training_class_small

The University offers all staff and faculty a full schedule of professional development workshops every semester. Topics include Professional Skills, Communications, Teamwork, Leadership, and more.

Enrollment: To register for Learning Programs, log in to eNDeavor.

Cancellation Policy: To cancel an enrollment, please unenroll in eNDeavor at least three days before the class start date so that waitlisted participants may be notified that a seat is available. Due to high demand and limited seating, departments will be charged $100 for cancellations made fewer than three days before the course start date.

See full program calendar


Accountability and Teamwork

Course descriptions | Register in eNDeavor

Title Date Time
Life Balance-Stress Reduction Wed., Mar. 22, 2017 8:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
The Art of Happiness at Work: Dignity, Respect, and Recognition Tues., Feb. 14, 2017 1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Career Development

Course descriptions | Register in eNDeavor

Title Date Time
Managing My Career: Assessment and Research Wed., Feb. 15 AND Wed., Mar. 1, 2017 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Interview Prep 101 Tues., Feb. 28 AND Tues., Mar. 14, 2017 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Managing My Career: Deciding and Setting Goals Wed., Mar. 15, 2017 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Managing My Career: Taking Action Wed., Mar. 29, 2017 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Building Strategic Resumes and Cover Letters Wed., Apr. 19, 2017 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Communication and Interpersonal Skills

Course descriptions | Register in eNDeavor

Title Date Time
Developing Your Emotional Intelligence Tues., Feb. 23, 2017 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Effective Communication and Coaching (Candid Conversations) Thurs., Mar. 2, 2017 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Speak with Confidence Thurs., May 11, 2017 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Dealing with Conflict and Change Management Thurs., June 22, 2017 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Resolving Conflict while Maintaining Relationships Wed., May 3, 2017 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Communicating with Colleagues and Coworkers Wed., March 22, 2017 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Diversity and Inclusion

Course descriptions | Register in eNDeavor

Title Date Time
Note: We Are All ND is required for all non-supervisory staff
We Are All ND Wed., Apr 5, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
We Are All ND Wed., Apr 5, 2017 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
We Are All ND Tues., Apr 18, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
We Are All ND Tues., May 2, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
We Are All ND Tues., May 16, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
We Are All ND Wed., May 24, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
We Are All ND Mon., Jun 5, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
We Are All ND Mon., Jun 5, 2017 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
We Are All ND Wed., Jun 14, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
We Are All ND Wed., Jun 14, 2017 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
We Are All ND Wed., Jul 12, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
We Are All ND Wed., Jul 12, 2017 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
We Are All ND Thurs., Jul 20, 2017 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Title Date and Time
Note: Multicultural Competencies and Hiring Game Changers is required for all managers and supervisors of staff
Multicultural Competencies and Hiring Game Changers Tues., Mar. 21, 2017, 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. and Wed., Mar. 22, 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Multicultural Competencies and Hiring Game Changers Wed, May 3, 2017, 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. and Thurs., May 4, 8:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Multicultural Competencies and Hiring Game Changers Wed, Jul 26, 2017, 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. and Thurs., Jul 27, 8:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Professional Skills & Tools

Course descriptions | Register in eNDeavor

Title Date Time
Emotional Intelligence Thurs., Jan. 26, 2017 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Seven Habits for Personal and Professional Success Mon., Feb. 27, 2017 8:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Developing Your Coaching Skills Thurs., Apr. 27, 2017 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Supervision & Leadership

Course descriptions | Register in eNDeavor

Title Date Time
ND Essentials for Managing People Tues., Jan. 31, 2017 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
ND Essentials for Managing People Tues., Apr. 25, 2017 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
Creating a Positive Workplace For You and Your Team Thurs., Feb. 9, 2017 8:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Contributing through Others: The Power of Effective Delegation Thurs., Apr. 6, 2017 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
The Power of Trust Mon., March 27, 2017 8:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Decisions by Design Wed., May 3, 2017 8:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Learning Series Programs

These multi-day programs and training workshops offer more in-depth development of interpersonal, professional, supervisory and management skills. Offerings change each semester.

Learning Series Programs


Custom Programs

For teambuilding, strategic planning or other topics customized specifically for a department or work team, supervisors and managers should contact their HR Consultant or askHR at 631-5900 to speak with a Learning & Organizational Development representative.

  • DiSC Styles team development
  • Myers Briggs (MBTI) personality style team building
  • New Leader Assimilation
  • StrengthFinders
  • Team Building within the Team
  • Team Building Across Shifts
  • Team Goal-Setting
  • Change Management for Teams
  • Strategic planning
  • Other topics—ask your HR Consultant

Send us your comments and questions.